Defensive Indifference

Looking down at the stars, I know it’s clear
That, for all they care, I might not be here.
Defensive indifference follows errors,
Take a base in stride, not dread or terrors.

The stars may have their burning flame
But not because they know my name.
There need not be a true connection
For me to have this strange affection.

Admirer as I think I must
Be for these losers who’ll go bust,
I cannot now, I see them, say
I regret that I watch them play.

Should the stars disappear, being sold,
I’ll watch the backups and behold
This same affection, you would find–
After all this time, I can’t mind.

Leave a Reply

