World Series, Day 3

Or, An Open Letter To People Unlikely To Read This

There were times when people like you
Would not have asked me the score.
You would have known who was playing,
Not because you particularly cared
But because it was the only game in town,
Because the towns were clustered together,
Because it was something to talk about.

Today, you are free to watch whatever you like,
Or would be if I wasn’t hogging the TV.
I ask, several times, but you let me keep it.
You can watch soccer;
I scribble on Facebook, MLS Playoffs anyone?
You can watch basketball,
You can’t technically watch the NHL right now,
But the announcers will cite it anyway
Just to get more data about best of seven series.
You can play dodgeball or videogames or guitar,
Play school, work school,
Find a niche and pick it.

Instead here you are, and I explain,
The Giants are winning.
The game is in Detroit.
The Tigers are from Detroit.
The Giants are from San Francisco.
Well, they’re from New York. They left.
The Dodgers were all like let’s take over the west coast
And be rivals there. It’ll be fun.

Pretty much, that’s how it happened.
No, I’m not a Giants fan.
No, I’m not a Tigers fan.
The Giants are still winning.
They’re up two games to none.
It’s best out of seven.
This is game three.
This is the third game in a row.
The next game will be tomorrow.
It is not a “tripleheader.”
No, that would have to be on the same day.

Take the TV back, if you want.
Say something, go out and party.
You don’t need to care for the playoffs,
Just as I don’t need to care for whatever you do.

And maybe, if you don’t care about the playoffs,
Don’t come in and ask
If anyone wants to watch the soccer playoffs
Just to get a rise out of me
When you explain that you don’t care about the playoffs.

There is a line, somewhere,
Between being social, fitting in,
Making conversation, having fun,
And lying to annoy,
Using others because you can. Right?
Each play is a new chance
And I am backpedaling out in left field
Unable to see
Just waiting for it all to come down.

If I was brave, I’d ask you
Why I was worth your time.

Leave a Reply

