The Radio Fan Watches FOX

Was that Tony La Russa after all?
The glasses look right. I don’t know the eyes.
Was that a slider? Changeup? Or curveball?
Perhaps this would be a good place for wise

Commentators to…maybe…commentate.
They keep silent, cutaway to the same
Fan–wedding ring, hair dyed, breath quick to bate–
That they have been showing throughout the game.

Give me the details that I could not hear;
The red glove, the necklace striped blue and white.
We all are fans and we can all guess fear,
We know what is at stake on such a night.

And beyond night, I’ll try myself to share
The game with others–it’s morning out there.

3 thoughts on “The Radio Fan Watches FOX

  1. Man, if you only watch the postseason on TV, you get the impression baseball fans are anxiety-ridden neurotics who paint initials on their faces and are about to throw up into their rally towels.

  2. I am an anxiety-ridden neurotic and even I don’t do that!

  3. Detailed Game 7 Scorecard and Box Score: the necessary reference tool for intelligently discussing the game. Check mine out at http://www.robertmilliman.com. I also have scorecards and box scores for games 1 – 6 and all the ALCS games. Want to relive 2009 and 2010? I’ve got those too at the same site.

Leave a Reply

