Top 9 Random Tidibits about Making Slams Grand

So grand slamming is a big topic now, what with it occurring for a third go-round by a squad in a short duration. And I got to thinking, “grand” is arguably a poor word. It’s a “four-run” blast, truly–that’s your only way to notch four runs in a go. But “grand” could signify lots of things. Such as:

  • going far
  • finishing up your matchup
  • winning a thousand dollars for a fan (WGN TV almost has this promotion, but it’s in your fifth inning, so you could obtain that many “grand”. Also, as long as I’m talking about “a thousand” on my lipogram blog, you should try and track down a short story known as “1 to 999” by Isaac Asimov if you can. You will know why if you find it.)
  • staying in bounds (possibly? A thing is cool by dint of its difficulty, translating to going not as far? I don’t know about this.)
  • By that logic, any oddity of surrounding data could qualify a slam as “grand.” Of all counts, a particular count (full? Two and two? First pitch) is most common for hitting balls out. But I don’t know which. I doubt it’s known to that many. And if it would vary…no, I don’t think this is a good way to count.
  • Having a triad of guys on is unusual. You start with nobody on, and must work to load up bags. Possibly you could all go out without loading up bags, just as you could possibly hit a ball into play and not fill up your count. So is a full count most uncommon?
  • Okay, now I’m curious and want to look this up. 16% of slams in 2011 occur on a first pitch. I still don’t know about full counts or anything.
  • This fraction is roughly constant across campaigns, although this particular statistic is a bit low.
  • I didn’t plan for this post to go in this fashion at all. Oops. But it’s probably good that I’m blogging–hard to know just what to post about. I’ll probably try putting up random Q&As again.
Leave a Reply

