Looking for my own

Load the song, sing out each note.
Call it spring but grab your coat.
Nobody so far can know
Who is headed north.

One eye forward, one eye back
They always play, we watch, like that
Spring can have ties, we stay on track
Till summer will return.

Oh Brooklyn, Brooklyn, wait to fade.
Are you aware where new teams played?
The pyramids and the parades
Oh Brooklyn, Brooklyn, wait to fade.

When at first I learned to read
I used all the words behind me
Them and then and you and three
Still need to find my time.
And how I take my time.

That singer had a voice that shines
Like stolen cash and shoehorned rhymes.
Romanticism can be fine
No season is a mourning time.

Oh Brooklyn, Brooklyn, wait to win.
Are you aware the shape we’re in?
The turns we take, the clocks they spin
Oh Brooklyn, Brooklyn, wait to win.

Three names that became hard to say
Looking for my own.
What he was then I’m not today
I haven’t changed, but grown.

Oh Brooklyn, Brooklyn, wait to sing
For no one knows the shape of spring.
With hands they snag, with bats they swing.
Oh Brooklyn, Brooklyn, wait to sing.

Oh Brooklyn, Brooklyn, wait a year.
Are you aware what counts as “here”?
Who’s to say who is far or near?
Oh Brooklyn, Brooklyn, wait a year.

I find my voice with time and age.
The present will not be a cage
I won’t have to turn to a stage
Since now we have the game.

Three words that became hard to say
Looking for my own.

One thought on “Looking for my own

  1. I haven’t checked this site in a long time…. Fun to read the Natural/League of their Own, and loved the Brooklyn, Brooklyn parody! Glad you’re still writing lipograms.

Leave a Reply

