Wait Till Next Year

As time goes on, it’s harder to believe
The worst prognostications people say.
Or maybe I’m just looking for a way
To hold out hope and not let myself grieve.
It’s not that I deny that people leave.
I don’t convince myself that they will stay
But only that they might come back some day.

I flew into New York last New Year’s Eve,
And, flying, saw two stadia below.
I knew there was a team about to switch
From one field to the other one, although
I wasn’t sure which team. But even so,
I watched the fields and wondered which was which.
I did not know. I will not ever know.

Leave a Reply

