2000s highlights

In 2000, it was all looking up. Waking up and watching action in Japan at ridiculous hours, climbing up to Coors, and just knowing that I was living at a bright start.

In 2001, it wasn’t. An old star going away was no fun, but I found that taking out frustration through writing was a good thing to do. I saw a statistic which was said to draw fans to sports again turn into just an old mark.  In August, I saw both Bronx and Flushing host in a day. But sports’ clock would skip and lag until it was wound up again, trickling into an unfamiliar month.

In 2002, I saw my Cubs host and win…in two distinct stadiums, to say nothing of a Maryland visit. 2002 had All-Star drama, possibly too much, from Torii and Barry through to…its inconclusion. Contraction and work halting both brought panic, but didn’t pan out. So that fall, I got to go to playoffs, waving a hanky and rooting for my local Twins.

In 2003, I hit a GWRBI in a softball playoff. That was cool. A baby was visiting during a Cubs playoff-clinching victory; I had to go outdoors to whoop it up. But loss would follow victory, and frustration follow joy. Indignation at guilt’s wrong apportioning would follow that. It was an odd fall, but I was happy to stand around a small radio at its finish, tuning in to follow scrappy Marlins’ championship.

In 2004, I saw Barry Bonds hit a ball into San Francisco’s Bay. I was at a marathon in Oakland; its stadium wasn’t that full, and my family and I could scoot down to good chairs. Or chairs in that stadium’s Fan Cam’s sight. Washington (not D. C.) also brought a cool stadium; I still don’t know of a park in which scoring is as simplistic. So much information on display! Back in Twindom, though, it wasn’t so straightforward. I was at a matchup that had to stop so football could go on that night.

In 2005, though not 2006 or 2007, I could mark off still a distinct stadium on my “to visit” list: Old Busch. MLB said hi to Washington D. C., congratulations to Chicago (‘s south), St. Louis, and Boston (again!).  A “classic” that might wind up turning classic had its start in 2006. My clubs won divisional flags, though didn’t accomplish much in playoffs. In 2007, I saw a squad wait until its final inning of play to hit, walk, or so on. And I had a spot to blog about it.

In 2008, I saw Chin-lung Hu on 2nd in California, and 5 non-L. A. stadiums in 10 days–a marathon in Ohio, Toronto, Michigan, Pittsburgh, and Chicago again. From Dan Uggla’s All-Star mishaps to a 4-0 stint against Wisconsin’s squad, it was a wild campaign for a Cubs fan. Twins fandom was almost as lucky; “AJ sucks” was our chorus in a 10-inning rally, but #163 would bring loss.

In 2009, I found out that watching in Atlanta wasn’t as odd as I’d thought. 163 was dramatic again, Japan won its classic again, and 2000’s champions won again. Also, I got this blog.

Amid scandals and off-grass drama, sports go on, and 2010 should bring continuing thrills. I think it will.

Leave a Reply

