Lake Waters

I thought soccer clocks count down.
I thought the nation didn’t care.
Who was I to speak of a nation?
I was wrong. I wasn’t fair.

It only takes one crowd to
Understand how the game’s done.
Eleven on eleven comes
Down to seven on one.

Had lake waters
Come to quench fire?
Each kick was vital
The stands were hot
We were on our feet
Rising that much higher
Had lake waters
Come to quench fire?

Pay my respects to Ned Grabavoy.
Send my condolence to McBride.
Give my regards to Busch and Blanco.
If nothing else, I know they tried.
So long to wrong assumptions
I have learned more, and now I know.
Wave goodbye, wish me well
Because I had to go.

Had they become my home team?
Was I cheering for a dream?
The fourth official’s word is coming
Let us know if the clock’s still running

Had lake waters
Come to quench fire?
Each kick was vital
Sent from the spot
We were on our feet
Rising that much higher.
I had to go to know.

Leave a Reply

